#13: George Colby - Advisor of FBLA and Teacher at Stanwood High

Subscribe:

Camano Voice on Apple PodcastsCamano Voice on StitcherCamano Voice on Player.fmCamano Voice on RadioPublicCamano Voice on Overcasttunein 2017 logo 2 1index 21a49226d155846acb790eeb919f63c8e 300x236@2x

George is a teacher at Stanwood High, and he is also the advisor for the Future Business Leaders of America or FBLA. This organization teaches high schooler valuable skills for the work place. George does so much for these kids and is loved far and wide by all of his students.

Links to Things Mentioned in this Episode:

Future Business Leaders of America (https://www.fbla-pbl.org/)
Stanwood High School (https://shs.stanwood.wednet.edu/)
Leslie Tripp State Farm Agent (https://www.statefarm.com/agent/us/wa/stanwood/leslie-tripp-rn4wr1ys000/map?officeAssociateId=r1v4t4m4np5)
Camano Island Coffee Roasters (https://camanoislandcoffee.com/)
Shrimp Shack (https://www.shrimpshack.us/)
Sugar Loaf (https://www.wta.org/go-hiking/hikes/sugarloaf-1))
Orcas Island (https://www.visitsanjuans.com/about-the-islands/orcas-island)
MOD Pizza Stanwood (https://modpizza.com/locations/stanwood/)

Key Points of Interest:

George describes what Stanwood High was like back in the 1980’s
He returned back to Stanwood High in 1994
His involvement with FBLA began in that first year
There were around 35 events in the competitions when he started, but has grown into around 80 events
George tells his favorite experience with FBLA, and what really got him hooked with the organization
Hear how well Stanwood High has performed nationally
FBLA students started working with Frozen Xplosion at the fair 3 years ago, and they have continued to do a fantastic job
Find out how you can get involved in helping this program out

Camano Island Locations Mentioned in this Episode:

English Boom (https://www.camanoislandinfo.com/english-boom-historical-park-1)
Ale Spike (https://alespike.com/)
Camano Commons Marketplace (https://camanocommons.com/)

Sign-up for our newsletter and receive deals and upcoming event alerts in your inbox!
Hours & Contact Info
Monday - Thursday, 8am - 6pm
Friday - Saturday, 8am - 7pm
Sunday, 10am - 6pm
Follow us:
848 N Sunrise Blvd,
Building C
Camano Island, WA 98282

(360) 722-7459
© Copyright 2019 • Camano Commons Marketplace - All Rights Reserved
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram